Tonight sees the Association of Independent Musician’s AIM Awards hosted at London’s The Brewery take place and promises a great evening celebrating the very best in independent music.

We’ll be there from 6.30pm bringing you all the action as it happens on our Twitter, Facebook and Instagram feeds so make sure you’re following them for the winners as they’re announced and to see if Frankie And The Heartstrings break into the media area again this year for more free beer. There’s also some surprise live shows #woo

Some of the labels & companies attending the awards include: Matador, Bella Union, [PIAS] Recordings, XFM, Cooking Vinyl, BBC 6Music, XL Recordings, 4AD, Warp, Ninja Tune, BBC 1Xtra, Rock Sound, Kerrang!, Mixmag, NME, Rough Trade, The Fly, The Quietus & Drowned In Sound… as well as a whole host of artists including Franz Ferdinand, Ghostpoet, Billy Bragg, Enter Shikari, The Computers, Frankie & The Heartstrings, The xx, The Horrors, Django Django, John Grant, Green Gartside, Scritti Politti, and Public Service Broadcasting.

Nominees (and who our money’s on) are as follows:

Best Live Act – voted for by visitors to
Enter Shikari
Johnny Marr
The National
NEN reckons: Enter Shikari

Independent Breakthrough of the Year – sponsored by 7digital 
The 1975
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
Palma Violets
Public Service Broadcasting
NEN reckons: Daughter

Hardest Working Band or Artist
The Computers
Enter Shikari
Frankie & The Heartstrings
Sam Lee
NEN reckons: Frankie & The Heartstrings

Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album – in association with Xfm
Ghostpoet – Some Say I So I Say Light
John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts
Major Lazer – Free The Universe
Villagers – {Awayland}
The xx – Coexist
NEN reckons – The xx

Best Small Label – sponsored by Disc Manufacturing Services
Alcopop! Records
Gringo Records
Rocket Girl
Too Pure Singles Club
NEN reckons: Alcopop! Records

Special Catalogue Release of the Year – in association with Amazon
Bonobo – The North Borders
Interpol – Turn On The Bright Lights 10th Anniversary Edition
The Horrors – Higher
Various Artists – Kenya Special
Various Artists – Scared to get Happy: A Story of Indie Pop 1980-89
NEN reckons: Interpol

Golden Welly Award – for Best Independent Festival – sponsored by UK Music in association with AIF & DIY
Hebridean Celtic Festival
In The Woods
Truck Festival
Y Not Festival
NEN reckons: Y Not

Independent Video of the Year – sponsored by Vevo
Childhood – Solemn Skies
David Byrne & St Vincent – Who
Django Django – WOR
Grimes – Genesis
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis – Thrift Shop
The Ramona Flowers – Lust & Lies
NEN reckons: Django Django

Indie Champion Award – sponsored by Consolidated Independent
Gilles Peterson – BBC 6music
Joe Sparrow – A New Band a Day
John Kennedy – Xfm
Lauren Laverne – BBC 6music
Lawrence Montgomery – Rise Music
NEN reckons: Joe Sparrow

Independent Track of the Year – in association with Spotify
Daughter – Youth
Jagwar Ma – The Throw
Palma Violets – Best of Friends
Passenger – Let Her Go
TNGHT – Higher Ground
Vampire Weekend – Diane Young
NEN reckons: Jagwar Ma

Independent Album of the Year – in association with Record Store Day
Daughter – If You Leave
David Byrne & St Vincent – Love This Giant
Ghostpoet – Some Say I So I Say Light
Jagwar Ma – Howlin
John Grant – Pale Green Ghosts
Jon Hopkins – Immunity
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Push The Sky Away
Public Service Broadcasting – Inform-Educate-Entertain
Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires of the City
The xx – Coexist
NEN reckons: Daughter

Independent Label of the Year – in association with Coutts
Bella Union
Cooking Vinyl
[PIAS] Recordings
NEN reckons: [PIAS] Recordings

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Act
The 2 Bears
Alabama Shakes
Alt J
Django Django
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
NEN reckons: Alt J

Some of 2013’s winners have already been decided by the judging panel.

Outstanding Contribution to Musicsponsored by eMusic
Billy Bragg
Pioneer Awardsponsored by The Orchard
Geoff Travis – Rough Trade

Are we right?

To find out, stay tuned with us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram for winner announcements as they come!

Have your say

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.