Last year’s winner for Best Small Festival, Y Not returns in 2013 and today announced the final line-up details. Already boasting that The Cribs, The Horrors, Ash, The 1975, Kids in Glass Houses and many more are due to grace the Y Not stages at the start of August, now confirmed are Deaf Havana, IsMe, Chapel Club, Temples, The Temperance Movement, Nightworks, Maybeshewill and Chloe Howl.

Y Not takes places near Matlock, in the heart of the Derbyshire Peak District and actively supports emerging artists. Also revealed are the chosen 20 unsigned bands who emerged from Y Not’s search for the best of new talent.


Festival organiser, Ralph Broadbent says, “There’s been an excellent response this year – we had over 1,700 artists apply”. In addition to Y Not, the judging panel included BBC Introducing, Naim Label and top bands, The Horrors, Mystery Jets, and We are The Ocean.

BBC Introducing’s Dean Jackson said “I’m passionate about development of the next generation of bands and musicians so, consistent with what I do every Saturday night on the radio, I jumped at the chance to help new artists get this important early exposure”.


And Y Not meanwhile is ensuring this will be a spectacular of a festival. Between the gaps in the music, there are bars, a drive-in cinema, dodgems, helter-skelter, a roller disco and unusual sightings rumoured. Younger families are also being looked after – with expanded family camping and kids activity area. This year the festival runs from 2-4 August.

Have your say

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.