South London band Palma Violets are a big deal at the moment, with mentions in almost every single copy of NME over the past few months as well as playing Maida Vale on BBC 6 and appearing on Soccer AM.

After a host of live dates and being hotly tipped as one of the best UK indie live bands, they are releasing their first album ‘180’ today and it has definitely lived up to the hype.


The album starts off with ‘Best of Friends’, one of the biggest indie hits of the year and even won best track of 2012 in NME. The song is definitely a highlight; it is loud and everyone who knows anything about the British indie scene will already know the words, meaning it is the perfect single to start off with.

The 12 track album continues to impress throughout, with the harder, grittier singles like ‘Tom The Drum’, ‘Chicken Dippers’ and ‘Johnny Bagga Donuts’, which has a striking resemblance to The Libertines. They also have the softer tracks such as ‘All The Garden Birds’ and ‘Three Stars’, showing they aren’t all about going wild and are capable of much more. Just when you think the album has finished on ’14’, hidden track ‘Brand New Song’ starts to play and finishes the album on a high.


From start to finish, ‘180’ has everything the indie guitar scene needs at the minute. Sam Fryer provides the strong vocals as co-frontman Chilli Jesson snarls along with attitude, making them so similar to Carl Barat and Pete Doherty. Will Doyle provides the heavy drumming that is so important to the likes of ‘Tom The Drum’ and ‘Best Of Friends’, yet Peter Mayhew is the musical genius on the keys making tracks such as ‘Step Up For The Cool Cats’ sound so good.

Palma Violets definitely had a lot to live up to after all the hype surrounding them, but it seems like they have done it. ‘180’ should be considered as one of the albums of the year already and I would recommend everyone go out and buy it.

Highlight Tracks
Step Up For The Cool Cats
Chicken Dippers
Tom The Drum
Rattlesnake Highway

Have your say

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.